I want it back

Almost a year and a half ago I stared writing the lyrics for this song. I sought outside help from other co writers, but nothing seemed to fit the bill musically. Yes, I admit there were many other good versions. But, I was after great. There was just something missing in the chord progressions we were coming up with. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. Emotion was key. Without emotion being supported by the chords, all I had were great lyrics. So, the song sat for a year. During that time, I was messing around with a chord progression, and I started singing the lyrics to “I want it back” like I had been singing the song for years. It just goes to show you, that in time, everything falls together.

“CLICK HERE” to listen to the full length version

I want it back

Temper’s flaring, hurtful swearing,
This tension’s so thick it can be stirred
Sleeping separate, waking up feeling desperate,
We’re down to dirty looks instead of words

I want it back, back before time smothered the flames,
I want it back…
To when you answered when I call your name
To ending phrases with I love you,
To sharing dreams and making love…
The way we used to do….
I want it back

Constant clashes, Spiteful lashes,
Praying hasn’t help us beat these odds
Painful presence, feeds empty in our essence,
Can’t you see we’re both being robbed

I want it back, back before time smothered the flames,
I want it back…
To when you answered when I call your name
To ending phrases with I love you,
To sharing dreams and making love…
The way we used to do….
I want it back

When did our desire suffer this fall
How could we let the darkness, start building this wall

Michael Rey – Country Songwriter © 2017 (BMI)
https://michaelreycountrysongwriter.wordpress.com/
Twitter: @Michael__Rey

i-want-it-back

~ by Michael Rey - Country Songwriter on February 26, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
