I didn’t write the rules, I learned them

There are so many unwritten rules in the Music business it’s almost unbelievable. It’s bad enough we have to learn our Songwriting craft, master our instruments, and learn how to combine both the music and the lyric in a masterful, crafty way to gain universal appeal. We also have to learn how to get our music to the people that can get our songs to the next level. Unfortunately there are many that claim they know how to get your songs to the next level, when in reality more times than not there is a hidden agenda on their part. transparency is the only way to go. But if someone is being transparent they are placing themselves on the line. Reputations, connections, etc. are earned through years of trial and error. For one to put themselves on the line, the song, the artist, and the most important thing of all, “The work ethic” will have to be there. Me personally, I’m trying to be the best at my craft by working as hard or harder than anyone else on the planet. Is this true, I don’t know. What I do know, is, that Passion and shear determination wakes me up every morning (this statement was given to me by my friend Tony Wilks during a phone conversation we had. I felt compelled to use in this blog post). I am constantly on the lookout for like minded people. Which brings me to my point. I have been working on a book for sometime now, that will hopefully help others not make the same mistakes I did when I was first starting out in the music business. This book will cover many areas of songwriting, the music business, and getting the the extreme odds that are against us, on our side. I’ll be keeping you informed as to the progress of the book by way of my team members. If you have any questions please feel free to give me a call (I’m available 24/7 – 365). Contact Michael Rey: (205) 210-5263 I look forward to hearing from you. God bless.MichaelReyCountrySongwriter45

~ by Michael Rey - Country Songwriter on January 26, 2016.

4 Responses to “I didn’t write the rules, I learned them”

  1. Michael Rey is the best county songwriter. I am on his team. He loves heart from artists. Micharl is a Great person to talk to.

  2. I do not think people recognize just how Awesome this is and Michael is for doing this, Like anything else we all learn by experience, Here you have a Man giving you his vast experiences and knowledge for nothing more than to “Help Thy Neighbor” My Hat’s off to you Mr. Rey

  3. Passion and sheer determination is what has created the person you are and the beautiful songwriting you have given us to hear. Trial and error at all part of learning, and any songwriter out there would want to read and learn just as you did. You’re an amazing person Michael and I am proud to know you, call you my friend and to be a part of your team!!!

Leave a Reply

 
